Courteeners announce seventh album ‘Pink Cactus Café’ with “feel good” new single ‘Solitude Of The Night Bus’

Courteeners announce seventh album ‘Pink Cactus Café’ with “feel good” new single ‘Solitude Of The Night Bus’

4 minutes, 28 seconds Read

Courteeners have announced their seventh album ‘Pink Cactus Café’ and shared their new “feel good” single ‘Solitude Of The Night Bus’.

  • READ MORE: Courteeners’ Liam Fray on ‘St. Jude’s’ Number One Position: “We Feel Pretty Blessed”

‘Pink Cactus Café’ marks the band’s seventh studio effort and is set for release on October 25th via Ignition. As the first album, Liam Fray and co have shared their lead single ‘Solitude Of The Night Bus’, an upbeat track that sees the band return to their indie roots.

Fray said of the track in a press release: “This came at a time of real doubt. Things weren’t going so well. No confidence. No direction. I think that’s why – whisper it – it’s on the fun side. This is the new us. I’d worked with Ola (Modupe-Ojo) before on ‘Hanging Off Your Cloud’ and, like then, there was just a magic in the room that was irresistible.

“It’s a summer breeze. But it’s a winter night. Either way, sometimes you’ve got to shut out the noise. My late uncle Pat loved a whistle, so it’s a bit of a tribute to him. Get on the bus, put your headphones on, go your own way. It’s the feel-good, imposter syndrome hit of the summer.”

The music video for the track, directed by Dom Foster (The Coral, Paul Heaton), sees Fray on a night-time journey on a Number 17 bus, with the vibrant artwork of ‘Pink Cactus Café’ coming to life.

According to a press release, Fray co-produced all of the tracks on “Pink Cactus Café,” and features contributions from DMA’S, Brooke Combe, James and Ian Skelly (The Coral), Pixey, Charlie Salt (Blossoms), Ola Modupe-Ojo (Bipolar Sunshine) and Theo Hutchcraft (Hurts), among many others.

You can pre-order and pre-save the album here . It will be available in various formats including CD, LP and cassette. Signed albums and heavyweight vinyl, including limited edition coloured formats, will also be offered, with all vinyl versions containing an exclusive bonus track. Digital formats will include Dolby Atmos.

Courteeners' Pink Cactus Café album artwork.  Credit: Dom Foster
Courteeners’ Pink Cactus Café album artwork. Credit: Dom Foster

The tracklist of Courteener’s ‘Pink Cactus Café’ is:

‘Sweet Surrender’ (with Brooke Combe)
‘Weekend shy of a feeling’
‘Pink Cactus Cafe’
‘Where are we now?’
‘The Beginning Of The End’ (with DMA’S)
‘Loneliness of the night bus’
‘First Name Terms’ (with Pixey)
“I love you even less”
‘Bitten by invisible teeth’

Of the album, Fray said: “The last record came out right on the edge of lockdown, so I immediately went into panic (writing) mode… on my own, but with no real plan. I wasn’t sure if it was going to be a side project, Courteeners, solo project. Just songs. Everything was uncertain. So it wasn’t necessarily a Courteeners SOUND… I started reaching out on my Indie Rolodex as a bit of fun, and it’s ended up being the most collaborative and rewarding thing we’ve ever done. It’s a real collage of an album, we just threw everything into the melting pot.

“Cam & Cones have worked their magic on these songs, along with… to name a few… DMA’S, Charlie from Blossoms, Theo from Hurts, James Skelly and his percussion genius of a brother – lan, and two of the best vocalists around in Brooke Combe and Pixey. It’s the most collaborative thing we’ve ever done, and we couldn’t be happier. Four and a half years in the making, we truly believe it’s the best set of songs we’ve released into the world since St. Jude… we hope you enjoy them as much as we do.”

‘Pink Cactus Café’ follows the band’s 2020 release ‘More. Again. Forever.’ In a four-star review of the LP, NME shared: “’More. Again. Forever’ strikes a mature balance. It’s escapist in its sound, yet humane in its approach to the world. It’s experimental yet familiar, testing what the band is capable of while proving to be their most focused work to date.”

Elsewhere, the band announced on social media that they are announcing a UK tour on Friday (July 12), featuring a venue in Manchester that the band has not yet played. Fans can start a special ticket pre-sale by pre-ordering the album.

Also on the bill is Courteeners performing at the Boardmasters and Victorious Festival in August. In April, they were named Band of the Year at the inaugural Northern Music Awards.

Similar Posts